To find clinicians for a telehealth startup, most founders contract a clinician network: a medical group whose physicians and nurse practitioners are licensed across states and review your patients under your brand. The other routes are hiring your own clinicians, or a physician-owned practice (a friendly PC) that your company supports with management services.
A network is the fastest way to launch in many states at once. Your own clinicians give you more control once volume justifies the cost. Whichever you choose, thimblehub sets up and runs your checkout, portals and site on it. If you don't have a network yet, we match you with one we work with and set it up.
Three ways to get clinicians
| Route | How it works | Best for | What you take on |
|---|---|---|---|
| A clinician network | The network's licensed clinicians review your patients under your brand, on protocols agreed with you | A first launch in many states at once | The network's fees, states and protocols, and a contract |
| Your own clinicians | You hire or contract physicians or nurse practitioners licensed in every state you sell in | Brands with a medical director and steady volume | Licenses in each patient's state, malpractice cover, credentialing and scheduling |
| A friendly PC | A physician owns the medical practice, and your company provides management services under a contract | Founders who aren't clinicians and want their own medical group | State corporate practice rules, legal setup and a physician owner you trust |
Licensure: the FSMB's 2022 telemedicine policy says a physician must be licensed, or otherwise authorized, by the medical board of the state where the patient is located. Ownership: the Medical Board of California, for example, treats non-physicians owning or operating a business that offers diagnosis or treatment as practicing medicine without a license. Checked October 12, 2026.
Whichever route you pick, clinical decisions stay with licensed clinicians. California's medical board lists decisions that can't be handed to an unlicensed person or a management company, from which tests to order to how many patients a physician must see. Have a healthcare attorney review your structure before launch.
Clinician networks compared (2026)
Each row comes from the network's own site. Only Qualiphy shows a price on its homepage, so ask the others for a quote at your expected monthly volume.
| Network | What it offers, by its own account | States it claims | Pharmacy | Price on its site |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MD Integrations (MDI) | Physician-only network built for async care; an API plus Shopify and WooCommerce; 200+ healthcare companies | All 50, plus DC and Guam | E-prescribing through pharmacy partners | No, tailored after a demo |
| OpenLoop | Clinicians plus intake, portal, EHR, payments and video; 400+ virtual care brands | All 50 | Nationwide pharmacy and lab network | No, varies by service |
| Beluga Health | Physician-led care, prescribing and pharmacy routing behind your brand, with APIs | All 50, plus DC | No forced pharmacy | Not on its homepage |
| Wizlo | Provider network with an EMR, patient portal, labs and wearables | All 50 | Routes to pharmacies with state coverage | No |
| Arora Health | Good faith exams, medical director matching and pre-built protocols for wellness practices | Medical director licenses in all 50 | Lists a compounding pharmacy | No |
| Telegra | Board-certified providers with e-commerce, a patient portal, a branded app and an API | All 50, for providers and pharmacies | Pharmacy routing you control | On a separate plans page |
| CareValidate | Clinicians, e-commerce and growth services, with sync and async care | Not stated on its homepage | Compounded medication fulfillment | No |
| SteadyMD | Phone, messaging and video visits, sync and async; 200,000+ visits a month | All 50 | Not stated | No |
| Wheel | Board-certified clinicians and the Wheel Horizon platform, for digital health, pharma and health plans | All 50 | Not stated | No |
| Qualiphy | Good faith exams, video visits and prescriptions for med spas and clinics, including GLP-1s | Not stated on its homepage | Ships to the patient or their pharmacy | $27.99 for exams and consults |
From each network's own homepage, plus MDI's FAQ, checked October 12, 2026. Offers change often, so confirm terms with each network before you sign.
What to ask a clinician network
- States and visit types. Which states can it serve for your products, and in which states does it require a video visit?
- Turnaround. How long from a submitted intake to a clinical decision, on weekdays and on weekends?
- Protocols. Who writes the clinical protocols for your products, and can your medical director change them?
- Controlled substances. Can it run programs such as TRT, and what's its plan if the federal telemedicine flexibilities end on December 31, 2026? Our Ryan Haight Act guide covers the rules.
- Pharmacy choice. Can prescriptions go to your own pharmacy, or only to the network's partners?
- Your data. Will it sign a BAA, and how do you get patient records out if you leave?
- Pricing and minimums. What does a consult cost at your volume, and are there monthly minimums or setup fees?
- Capacity. How many consults a day can it handle in your busiest states?
- Ad clearance. Will it support your LegitScript application with clinician credentials and protocol answers?
Steps to get clinicians live under your brand
A network chosen
You choose a network and agree terms with it directly. No network yet? We introduce you to ones we work with.
States and protocols confirmed
Your network confirms the states, visit types and protocols for each of your products.
A pharmacy chosen
You choose where prescriptions go: the network's pharmacy or your own. We can introduce pharmacies.
Network connected
thimblehub connects your network during setup and routes each order, and each prescription, to the right place.
A test order, together
You and our team run a test order together, through every step a patient takes.
When to bring clinicians in house
Brands often start on a network and add their own clinicians state by state as volume grows. Before you do, price the licenses, malpractice cover and credentialing for every state you sell in. The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact gives qualified physicians an expedited path to licenses in its member states, and our licensure compact guide compares it with the nurse and APRN compacts.
When your checkout, portals and patient accounts sit with you, moving to new clinicians changes where orders route, and patients keep the same checkout and portal.
How thimblehub works with your network
thimblehub is fully managed. We set up and run your checkout and intake (thimblecart), your patient and admin portals (thimbleportal) and your brand site (thimblesites), and route each order to the network you choose. Networks we work with include MDI, OpenLoop, Beluga, Wizlo, Arora, Telegra, SteadyMD and Wheel, and we connect any other network during setup, including every one in the table above. On Scale, up to three networks can run at once, such as one for weight care and another for hormone therapy.
No network yet? We introduce you to networks we work with, and you agree terms with them directly. The networks we work with or introduce can handle controlled-substance programs such as TRT. We also introduce pharmacies, set up lab testing (at-home kits, walk-in draws and mobile phlebotomy), and point you to people we trust for legal advice and LegitScript prep, which our LegitScript guide walks through.
Any network, any pharmacy
See how orders route from your checkout to the clinician network and pharmacy you choose.
See integrationsWhat one call to thimblehub gets you
One call: we help you choose a route and introduce networks and pharmacies we work with if you need them. We set up and run your checkout, portals and site on the network you pick, with a signed BAA and your own payment processor (such as Stripe). Ad tracking setup comes with your site, as our Meta ads guide explains. As fast as 3 days after you sign. It takes longer if you still need a pharmacy or clinicians, are waiting on LegitScript certification, want website design revisions, are planning marketing with us, or need custom builds. Here's what setup looks like.
Frequently asked questions
- How much does a clinician network cost?
- Few networks publish prices. Qualiphy lists $27.99 for good faith exams and consultations on its homepage. MDI sets pricing after a demo, and OpenLoop says its pricing varies by service. Ask each network for per-consult rates, minimums and setup fees at your expected monthly volume.
- Can I use more than one clinician network?
- Yes. Brands use a second network for another program or as a backup. On thimblehub's Scale, up to three networks can run at once, and each order routes to the right one.
- Who are OpenLoop's competitors?
- Clinician networks that compete with OpenLoop include MDI, Beluga, Wizlo, Arora, Telegra, SteadyMD, Wheel and Qualiphy, compared in the table above from their own sites. Some, OpenLoop and Telegra among them, also sell intake, portals or e-commerce. Networks we work with include OpenLoop, MDI, Beluga, Wizlo, Arora, Telegra, SteadyMD and Wheel, and we connect any other during setup. thimblehub sets up and runs your checkout, portals and site on the network you pick, or introduces you to one.
- Can I switch clinician networks later?
- Yes. When your checkout, portals and patient accounts sit with you, a switch changes where new orders route, and patients keep the same checkout and portal. Ask your current network how it hands over medical records.
- What's the difference between a clinician network and a telehealth platform?
- A clinician network supplies licensed clinicians and the medical practice. A platform runs what patients use: checkout, intake, portals and the site. Some companies sell both. thimblehub sets up and runs the platform side for you, on the network you choose.
- Do clinician networks provide the pharmacy too?
- Some do. MDI prescribes through pharmacy partners, Beluga says it forces no pharmacy on you, and others route to partners of their own. If you want your own pharmacy, ask before you sign. We connect your pharmacy or introduce one.
Questions, or a topic you'd like us to cover? Book a call or email hello@thimblehub.com.
Sources
- MD Integrations: homepage
- MD Integrations: FAQ
- OpenLoop: homepage
- Beluga Health: homepage
- Wizlo: homepage
- Arora Health: homepage
- Telegra: homepage
- CareValidate: homepage
- SteadyMD: homepage
- Wheel: homepage
- Qualiphy: homepage
- FSMB: The appropriate use of telemedicine technologies in the practice of medicine (April 2022)
- Medical Board of California: Practice information, corporate practice of medicine
- Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission
- Federal Register: Fourth temporary extension of telemedicine flexibilities, 90 FR 61301 (Dec 31, 2025)
- Federal Register: Special registrations for telemedicine, proposed rule (Jan 17, 2025)
- OMB OIRA: Special registration final rule under review since Aug 25, 2026 (RIN 1117-AB40)
- eCFR: 21 CFR 1308.13, Schedule III
thimblehub